How does insurance work when it’s not your fault?
In most cases, if you aren't at fault in a car accident, the other driver's state-mandated liability insurance coverage would pay for damage to your car, property and for medical bills for injuries, up to the limit of the policy. This is especially useful if your policy doesn't have adequate coverage.
Is Indiana a no-fault state?
Indiana is not a no-fault state. It is a fault state where you file a claim against the negligent driver's policy. So, if you caused the accident, the other driver would file a claim with your insurer.
Is Pennsylvania a no-fault state?
This includes medical, personal injury, and property damage. However, Pennsylvania is one of a handful of states that is called a “no-fault” state. This means that each party, regardless of who is at fault, collects compensation such as lost wages and medical bills from their own, respective insurers.
What happens if you get hit by someone without insurance in Indiana?
When you're injured and the other driver isn't insured, you may be able to seek a settlement from your own insurer, despite Indiana's fault laws. In most cases, the person at fault must cover the expenses for the accident. However, you may also have uninsured motorist coverage.
Which states are considered no-fault?
There are 12 no-fault states. These are Florida, Hawaii, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania and Utah.
Who is at fault in a rear end collision in Indiana?
In a rear-end crash, the driver who hit the other car from behind is generally at fault for the accident. Therefore, if you were involved in a rear-end crash and you were in the vehicle that was hit from behind, you will probably not be found at fault for the car accident in Indiana.
What happens if someone else is driving my car and gets in an accident Indiana?
As a rule of thumb, if someone else borrowed your car and ended up in an Indiana car accident, your insurance company will take over as long as they received oral permission from you to take your car.
How is fault determined in a car accident in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania is a no-fault state and requires no-fault insurance coverage. This means that you must file a claim for accident-related damages with your insurer irrespective of who or how your accident was caused.
Who pays for car damage in PA?
The at-fault party's insurance coverage should pay for your repairs, including the deductible. However, Pennsylvania law only requires $5,000 in property damage coverage in a policy, which may not be enough to pay for the repairs.
What is the Pennsylvania’s take on no-fault insurance?
PIP in a no-fault system will cover your injuries, even if you are at fault for the accident. Pennsylvania's minimum option for PIP is $5,000, which means that you can be covered up to $5,000 worth of injury even if you are at fault for your accident.
What does it mean that my is a no-fault state?
What does it mean to be a no-fault state? Car insurance laws can be defined as no-fault, choice no-fault, add-on or tort liability. In states with no-fault laws, each driver files a claim with their own insurance company following an accident, regardless of who is at fault.